French Stamps: Tropical Fish

Tropical Fish Stamps, 2012

It’s still raining!  We’ve had one beautiful picture-perfect day in the past month and the rest have been filled with rain!  Did I mention that I’m sick of rain?  I want to get outside and explore some!  I’d like to show you the Mont Saint Michel again.  The access road and the parking lot at the base of the island are now closed.  This latest move comes as part of the multi-year project to turn the Mont back into a true island.  Visitors can now walk or take a shuttle from the mainland (apparently working only so-so from what I’ve read in the local paper but I’d like to see for myself).  I’ve got plans to visit Combourg Château-Chateaubriand’s home and a local postcard favorite.  I’d like to tell you about the wonderful Malouinières in the area but I want to show you pictures as well.  I’ve got plans.  Unfortunately, so does the weather and we don’t seem to be on the same page!

In the meantime, I thought I would share this new stamp mini-sheet from the French Post.  Just looking at it makes me feel like I’m on vacation.  We went snorkeling in the coral reef around Mauritius as part of our honeymoon there.  I was amazed at how close we could get to the fish.  It might sound silly but I expected them to be afraid of us!  Instead, we could practically touch them.  The sheet contains four stamps–an Emperor angelfish, 1.00€; a Clownfish, 0.60€; a Pennant Coralfish, 0.77€; and a Leafy seadragon or Glauert’s seadragon, 0.60€.  If you look closely, you’ll find the words “Les fonds marins sont fragiles, protégeons-les” (“the seabed is fragile, protect it”) hidden along the top of the shark.  Even better, or cooler if you prefer Laura’s point of view, the sheet contains a glowing mermaid that only shows up in the dark!  The clownfish can be bought individually, however, the rest of the stamps can only be obtained by buying the entire mini-sheet.

Keep your fingers crossed for a break in the weather and lovely things to share!

 

This entry was posted in Stamps, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

