Problem Solving

Let me start with the good news–I can follow instructions!  Laura and I worked on the origami bakery set together and we actually did a halfway decent job.  Laura is only three so I was doing a lot of the work and letting her push down on the folds, tuck bits in, etc.  I have to admit when I looked at the instructions I had a real moment of panic.  Ignoring the fact that the written part was in Japanese, all the folds looked far more complicated than I remembered!  Sometimes just taking a deep breath is all you need to do…  Elise was sleeping so we worked at our own pace.  Laura wanted to do the fraiser first.  (It was also the easiest one to do which helped me with my confidence levels.)  It turned out well.

And the bad news?  By now you must have noticed that I do not have any pictures of Laura and Elise’s toys sitting down to eat cake and drink tea.  Our camera is fine, I still haven’t found the charger for the battery, but that is neither here nor there.  I suppose you could say–Elise happened!  Occasionally, parental weakness oblige, you underestimate the capacities of your children.  This is normally synonymous with a disaster–chewed books, scribbles on chairs, cake batter all over the floor, a tube full of wasabi in your child’s mouth (and she actually ate it with a smile!) and I could go on!  Yesterday, I discovered that Elise can climb far better than I thought and that her problem-solving capacities continue to grow.

Laura and I set up the origami bakery on the dining room table.  Laura invited Bear, Dog and Mermaid–all of her toys are “named” for what they are–to tea.  She arranged everything perfectly and we left the room to put her clothes away.  Elise, no longer napping, and craving a snack crashed the party.  She went to the computer room, picked up one of her little chairs, carried it into the dining room and used it to climb on to the big chair which she cannot reach on her own.  From the big chair, it was only a little jump to the dining room table and our desserts!  How old is Elise?  She turns two next month!

Needless to say, she was hungry!  Origami is fragile, not a word in Elise’s vocabulary. Our “baked goods” disappeared in a feeding frenzy that, judging by the results, would have made Cookie Monster proud.  Laura was horrified.  I spent the next hour trying to stop her from crying while cursing myself.  The day did end well–birthday cake at a friend’s party and a promise to Laura to find a book with simple children’s origami!

This entry was posted in Life in France, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

