What Fall Should Look Like

Orihime Park

Isn’t this picture beautiful?  Doesn’t it make you want to take a long walk?  And bring your camera to?  I wish I could stroll through Orihime Park right now and experience the fall foliage at its peak.  The park is located in Ashikaga (Tochigi Prefecture).  To help you situate it, Ashikaga is located 80 km north of Tokyo.

All of my travel brochures proudly note that Japan has four distinct seasons.  This used to make me smile but when you think about it, not everyone does experience the same or all seasons nor do they associate the same things with the same months.  I still have trouble when I think of Australians celebrating Christmas on the beach in the middle of summer!  Santa Claus never wore a bathing suit in my childhood!  We’re in the midst of autumn here but without the vibrant colors you see above.  The leaves hardly have time to change colors when the wind and the rain knock them down.

Fall here by the sea means rain, wind, apples, cider, and pumpkins and squash of all sizes.  I wonder if soba noodles are considered a traditional fall food in Japan.   I decided to try to find out a little more about the park above (without any luck) and came across the cities’ homepage.  The small English “Current Events” section listed the Ashikaga Soba Noodle Festival this coming weekend.  Traditional fall food or not, reading about it made me hungry and I’m off to make baked apples for an evening snack!

PS I’m still trying to decide how often to update this blog.  For the moment, I’m going to try and post every other day.  Even a short post takes me a little bit of time to write and I don’t want to post just to post.  I’m a quality over quantity type of person.  Hopefully, posting every other day will give me the time to write, revise and be inspired.  I want you to enjoy bringing these cards to life with me and keep coming back for more.

This entry was posted in Japan Postcards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

